Regular Season:



24 teams, each plays the others twice - home and away - for a total of 46 games each, over 46 game weeks.

Scoring points:

3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss.

Table order:

1. points won; 2. total goal difference; 3. total goals scored; 4. points in head-to-head matches; 5. goal difference in hth matches; 6. goals scored in hth matches; 7. play-off.

Relegation to the league:

3 teams from 2014/2015 Premier League

Promotion from the league:

1-2 place: promoted to 2015/2016 Premier League

3-6 place: enter a Promotion Play-off for 1 place in 2015/2016 Premier League

Relegation from the league:

22-24 place: relegated to 2015/2016 League One

Promotion to the league:

3 teams from 2014/2015 League one

Changes from last season:

Norwich City, Fulham and Cardiff City relegated from Premier League

Leicester City, Burnley and Queens Park Rangers promoted to Premier League

Doncaster Rovers, Barnsley and Yeovil Town relegated to League One

Wolverhampton Wanderers, Brentford and Rotherham United promoted from League One

Promotion Play-off:



4 teams from the Regular Season contest one place in 2015/2016 Premier League in a knockout format.


Teams are paired according to their Regular season standings:

3rd vs 6th;

4th vs 5th.

Winners are decided over two legs.

The higher placed teams from the Regular Season host the second legs.

Tie-breakers for the Promotion Play-off Semi-finals:

1. aggregate score from the two legs, 2. extra time, 3. penalties.


The two Semi-finals winners meet each other with the winner becoming the 2014/2015 Promotion Play-off winner.

Winner is decided over one leg, with extra time and penalties if score is level after regular time.

The match is played at a neutral venue at the Wembley Stadium in London.

Promotion from the league:

winner: promoted to 2015/2016 Premier League