1st Phase:

10 teams, each plays the others once- for a total of 9 games each, over 9 game weeks.

Scoring points:
3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss.

Table order:
1. points won; 2. games won; 3. total goal difference; 4. total goals scored; 5.* points in head-to-head matches; 6. lesser number of red cards received; 7. lesser number of yellow cards received; 8. draw.
* - only if exactly 2 teams are tied.

Qualification for the Final Stages:
1-4 place: qualify for the Final Stages

Relegation from the league:
9-10 place: relegated to Série B

Promotion to the league:
2 teams from Série B

Final Stages:

4 teams from the 1st Phase contest the Capixaba champion in a knockout format.

The teams are paired according to their 1st Phase standings:
1st vs 4th;
2nd vs 3rd.
Winners are decided over two legs.
The teams with higher 1st Phase placing host the second legs.

The two Semi-finals winners meet each other with the winner becoming Capixaba champion.
Winner is decided over two legs.
The team with higher 1st Phase placing hosts the second legs.

Tie-breakers for the knockout matches over two legs:
1. aggregate score from the two legs, 2. higher 1st Phase placing.

Qualification for Serie D:
champion: qualifies for Serie D
* - if the 1st placed team is participating in Serie A, Serie B, Serie C or Serie D, the best placed team that isn't already assured participation in Serie a, Serie B, Serie C or Serie D qualifies instead.

Qualification for Copa do Brasil:
champion: qualifies for Copa do Brasil