Regular Season:



8 teams. Each team plays the other once for a total of 7 games each, over 7 game weeks.

Scoring points:

3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss.

Table order:

1. points won; 2. games won; 3. total goal difference; 4. total goals scored; 4. points in head-to-head matches; 5. goal difference in hth matches; 6. lesser number of red cards received; 7. lesser number of yellow cards received; 8. draw.

Qualification for the Final Stages:

1-4 place of each group: qualify for the Semi-finals

Relegation from the league:

8 place: relegated to Segunda Divisão

Promotion to the league:

1 team from Segunda Divisão

Later Stages:



4 teams from the Regular Season stage contest the Maranhense winner in a knockout format.


Teams are paired according to their Regular Season standings:

1st vs 4th;

2nd vs 3rd.

Winners are decided over two legs. The team with higher league placing hosts the second leg.


The two Semi-finals winners meet each other with the winner becoming Maranhense winner.

Winner is decided over two legs.

The team with the better Regular season and Semi-finals record combined hosts the second leg.

Tie-breakers for the knockout matches over two legs:

1. aggregate score from the two legs, 2. hosting the second leg.

Qualification for Serie D:

champion: qualifies for Serie D

losing finalist: qualifies for Serie D

* - if the champion is participating in Serie A, Serie B, Serie C or Serie D, the best placed team that isn't already assured participation in Serie a, Serie B, Serie C or Serie D qualifies instead.

Qualification for Copa do Brasil:

champion: Copa do Brasil

losing finalist: Copa do Brasil

Qualification for Copa do Nordeste:

champion: Copa do Nordeste

losing finalist: Copa do Nordeste