2 teams qualify for the competition:

- the Primera División champion;

- the Copa del Rey winner.

If one team wins both competitions, then the Copa del Rey finalist qualifies.

Knockout stage:



2 teams contest the Super Cup in a knockout format.


The two teams meet each other with the winner becoming the Super Cup winner.

Winner is decided over two legs.

The Primera División champion hosts the second leg.

Tie-breakers for the knockout matches over two legs:

1. aggregate score from the two legs, 2. away goals, 3. extra time, 4. penalties.